Home » English Premier League » Top 5 Almost Premier League Winners In The History Featuring Manchester United And Arsenal

Top 5 Almost Premier League Winners In The History Featuring Manchester United And Arsenal

published :


At the end of any campaign, no one really cares about who came second or not. The Champions celebrate their glory while some other clubs are saddened by relegation. The second placed team barely gets a mention, unless it has been a heartbreak.

Tottenham this season should still finish second and boy did they have a great season. Spurs might not have won anything this campaign but they surely got a lot of neutrals rooting for them, if they already weren’t cheering Leicester on.

Mauricio Pochettino brought out some excellent football from Spurs and well they are the only club in the history of the Premier League who actually did pretty well in second place, just to miss out in the end.

Manchester United 1997-98

This one was a crazy season, Manchester United were 11 points clear of Arsenal at one stage of the season, though the gunners had three games in hand but you do not expect United to drop out of the race do you? United did blow it and some bookmakers actually paid out those who bet on United winning the title when they already had a 11-point lead. Arsenal fans celebrated but this United team lost out on the title by just one point in the end.

Arsenal 1998-99

The tables were turned around the next season as the Gunners ended up missing the Premier League crown by just one point to Manchester United. Arsenal though could have won the title as they had won against Tottenham, while United could only draw at Liverpool. Not many remember much about this season except the fact that United won the historic treble that year.

Liverpool 2008-09

Liverpool seemed well on course for picking up their first Premier League title until Rafa Benitez went on his infamous ‘fachts’ rant and well the Reds slipped up really after that. Liverpool played some great football, which included a mauling of Manchester United at Old Trafford but that was not enough. Manchester United won the title by four points but in all fairness, this was Liverpool’s title which they lost out on.

Manchester United 2011-12

Manchester City and Sergio Aguero took the championship away from Sir Alex’s men on the last day of the season. While United won their game, Aguero had other plans as he scored a late-late winner against QPR to deny the other Manchester team from another Premier League crown. Both teams ended the season on the same number of points but City got the title due to their superior goal difference, the first time that ever happened in the Premier League era.

Liverpool 2013-14

This one will hurt Liverpool fans the most, the Reds were clear favourites to win the title after beating Manchester City but lost out thanks to a Stevie G slip. The Reds should have won the title and broken their Premier League duck but that was not to happen, the 2-0 loss to Chelsea at home was the dagger into the heart of the club and well nothing has been right for them ever since. Thankfully, they do have Jurgen Klopp at the helm but that season and that team led by Luis Suarez was unbelievable.