Three Bayern Players Nominated For Ballon d’Or

We all know Barcelona and Real Madrid players will dominate this year’s Ballon d’Or nominations. But surprisingly three players from Bayern Munich also got nominated for the elite award.

Philipp Lahm, Manuel Neuer and Mario Gomez are the three Bavarians who got shortlisted for the award.

Three Bavarians shortlisted for Ballon d’or

Reasons behind inclusion of these three players:

  1. Gomez scored 45 times in all competition last campaign.
  2. Manuel Neuer went 1,018 minutes without conceding a goal breaking club’s previous record set by legendary Oliver Khan.
  3. Lahm captained his side to the champions league final and also led Germany to the semi-finals of UEFA EURO 2012 in the summer

And adding to the joy of the Bayern fans, the club’s manager Jupp Heynckes is also nominated for the World manager of the year award.

Awards panel will make their decision and choose the winner by December and the ceremony will be conducted in January.


Written by Dinesh V

Co-founder of Soccersouls. Living a start-up life 24/7
Follow @dineshintwit

Alen Halilovic – The New Messi

Lewandowski Cools Down Interest Shown By Sir Alex Ferguson