Have we forgotten these English clubs?

Chelsea and Manchester City are enjoying splendid successes lately following the take over of Roman Abramovich and Sheikh Mansour. Clubs like Nottingham Forest and Leeds United also enjoyed similar successes during their glory days, lets take some time to look at their past 

Nottingham Forest

The West Bridgford based club currently plays in the Football League Championship which is the second tier of the English club football. The Foresters’ miseries have overshadowed their past glory. Nottingham Forest were just an average club before the appointment of the former Middlesbrough goal machine Brian Clough as their manager. The pre-Brian Clough period was not a pleasant one as the Foresters managed just two trophies.

During the former Sunderland striker’s period as the manager, Nottingham Forest won their only league title, two consecutive European Cups and four League Cups. From November 26, 1977 to November 25, 1978, Nottingham Forest had an unbeaten run which spanned over 42 games, a record which would only be beaten 26 years later by Arsenal. Nottingham Forest were the European Champions for two consecutive years in 1979 and 1980 thanks to players such as Peter Shilton and Martin O’Neil. The post Brian Clough period is also not convincing as Forest have never broken into Premier League since their relegation in 1999.

Legendary Nottingham Forest line-up

•European Cup Winners: 1979, 1980
•European Super Cup Winners: 1980
•Division One Champions: 1978, 1998
•Football Alliance Champions: 1892
•FA Cup Winners: 1898, 1959
•FA Charity Shield Runners-Up: 1959
•Football League Cup Winners: 1978, 1979, 1989, 1990
•Victory Shield Champions: 1919.

Leeds United

The West Workshire based club now play in the second tier of the English club football. The former European Cup winners were placed fourteenth in the Championship last season. The club’s history stands tall as they held the record for the then most expensive transfer when they sold John Charles to Juventus for £65,000 in 1956. Between 1965 and 1974, Leeds United never finished outside of the top four, winning two League Championships under the management of Don Revie. Following the resignation of Don Revie, the likes of Jimmy Armfield and Allan Clarke could not bring the club to its original status. The Peacocks supporters were glad about the appointment of Howard Wilkinson as manager following the club’s title winning season in 1992.

A legendary Leeds team

However the party was short lived as Leeds United failed to perform on the highest level ever since which resulted in the termination of Wilkinson’s contract. David O’Leary brought the European football back to the club which also attracted the English international Rio Ferdinand who no longer plays for England. When David O’Leary was in charge of Leeds United, the Whites United never finished out of the top five. The financial trouble faced by Leeds United forced them to sell the likes of Rio Ferdinand, Robbie Fowler and Robbie Keane. The fairy tale came to an end as Leeds United were relegated in the same season when Arsenal went unbeaten. Since then, The Whites’ life is similar to a typical Championship side although they were relegated to the third tier once. Even though Leeds United play in the second division, they attract more fans than many other Premier League clubs.

Some the Honurs: 

First Division
* Winners (3) 1968–69 , 1973–74 , 1991–92
Second Division
* Winners (3) 1923–24 , 1963–64 , 1989–90
FA Cup
* Winners (1) 1972
League Cup
* Winners (1) 1968
FA Charity Shield
* Winners (2) 1969 , 1992
FA Youth Cup
* Winners (2) 1993, 1997
* Winners (2) 1968 , 1971

Written by Dinesh V

Co-founder of Soccersouls. Living a start-up life 24/7
Follow @dineshintwit

Manchester United Back With A Solid Performance To Beat Newcastle

Future Not Decided For Klass-Jan Huntelaar