Home » Headlines » Ranking Four Of The Best World Cup Finals Since 1980’s

Ranking Four Of The Best World Cup Finals Since 1980’s

published :

Playing in the World Cup Final is the dream and the pinnacle of heights for any Footballer. It can make or break careers, but one thing is for certain, it’s an experience none of the playing footballers will ever forget. This is perhaps the match every football fan all around the Globe is bound to witness no matter which team he supports. For our ranking criteria we have taken into consideration the matches which generated enormous enthusiasm, incredible comebacks and unbelievable atmosphere both on and off the pitch.

So here are Four of the best World Cup Finals since 1980’s:

Italy 1-1 France (2006 World Cup Final):

This match will forever be etched in history due to Zidane’s imaginable headbutt on Italian Marco Materazzi. France took the lead in the opening minutes albeit a wonderful Zidane chip which was picturesque at best. Materazzi equalized with a blasting header to level it up before Zidane lost his cool to headbutt the Italian after being hurled abuses directed towards his sister. As a result the French Legend was sent off bringing curtains on his wonderful career. For the Italians, the tactics had been made up, as a result France lost in penalties. What a final that was!


Brazil 2-0 Germany (2002 World Cup Final):

I would choose this match to be in the list due to two reasons. One it was a Brazilian side who gave us enormous joy with the team they had, they were unbeatable. Secondly South Korea and Japan hosted an amazing World Cup in South Asia which gave them huge praise from all over the Football fraternity. Ronaldo once again stomped his authority in the World stage with Cafu being the only player to play in three World Cup Finals. As for Brazil they became the first Nation to record five World Cup titles under their belt.

France 3-0 Brazil (1998 World Cup Final):

If you ask a Brazilian, they would least like want to remember this match. What followed in the aftermath of the ninety minutes was unimaginable! Brazil, being the clear favourites lost an one sided final to hosts France. Unimaginably Ronaldo was left off the starting eleven even though inside news still speculate, he was absolutely fit to play. Leaving that apart though, France were brilliant with Zidane in particular who scored a brace and Emanuel Petit also got himself on the score sheet to give the French a famous win.

Argentina 3-2 Germany (1986 World Cup Final):

Diego Maradona, the name says it all! Argentina took a 2-0 lead before Germany with their determined effort came back to level the scores only to see Maradona set up a mesmerizing assist for Burruchaga to win the World Cup for Argentina. If there was any indication that Football was a team game of eleven players Diegeo Maradona, proved it wrong single handedly.