Home » Teams » Arsenal » Arsenal Duo Selected For England’s World Cup squad

Arsenal Duo Selected For England’s World Cup squad

roy hodgson

Arsenal midfielders Jack Wilshere and Alex Oxlade-Chamberlain has been selected by Roy Hodgson as a part of the 23 man squad that he will take to Brazil next month. 

Having fractured his foot while on International duty with England in a friendly game against Denmark, Jack Wilshere has manged to recover on time to be a part of the 23 man squad. The English midfielder came in as a sub last night when Arsenal played their last league game of the season against Norwich. Along with Wilshere, Chamberlain also finds his name on the list. The duo have to work hard in the coming weeks, if they are to be selected for the starting XI when England take on Italy on their opening game.

While Michael Carrick and Tom Cleverley are on the stand by list, Jack Wilshere’s selection reveals Hodgson’s belief in the youngster. He has to fight with the likes of Lampard, Barkley, Lallana, Sterling and Henderson for a starting place alongside captain Steven Gerrard.

However, the likes of Theo Walcott who has been on the sidelines for the major part of the season, Kieran Gibbs and Carl Jenkinson, have been left out.

 This is the complete squad along with 7 players on the stand by list. 


Rickie Lambert (Southampton)

Wayne Rooney (Manchester United)

Daniel Sturridge (Liverpool)

Danny Welbeck (Manchester United)


Steven Gerrard (Liverpool) – captain

Ross Barkley (Everton)

Jordan Henderson (Liverpool)

Adam Lallana (Southampton)

Frank Lampard (Chelsea)

James Milner (Manchester City)

Alex Oxlade-Chamberlain (Arsenal)

Raheem Sterling (Liverpool)

Jack Wilshere (Arsenal)


Leighton Baines (Everton)

Gary Cahill (Chelsea)

Phil Jagielka (Everton)

Glen Johnson (Liverpool)

Phil Jones (Man Utd)

Luke Shaw (Southampton)

Chris Smalling (Man Utd)

Goal Keepers

Joe Hart (Manchester City)

Ben Foster (West Bromwich Albion)

Fraser Forster (Celtic)

Stand by list

Michael Carrick (Manchester United)

Andy Carroll (West Ham United)

Tom Cleverley (Manchester United)

Jermain Defoe (Toronto FC)

Jon Flanagan (Liverpool)

John Ruddy (Norwich City)

John Stones (Everton)